My Journey to Health (and how it led to spiritual health)

Over the past 10 plus years, I have been an avid student and researcher of all different issues concerning nutrition – one thing I have been convicted of as of late is to consider Gods Word as it speaks to everything in life, even food! There is a wealth of wisdom out there in the form of books and Internet resources, documentaries etc. and as I read and view them, I’m reminded that hardly any of this information comes from a Christian worldview- though I do believe God still uses these people and their expertise. It is true though that, while we can still learn from them, it is of utmost importance to seek the Lord and to seek a balance that doesn’t make us in bondage to particular eating styles that can quickly turn into idols. Bondage says I better never put a Cheeto in my mouth. Freedom says that God ordains my “going in and my lying down” (Psalm 139), so if I do do eat a Cheeto or two, legalism doesn’t condemn me and God is sovereign over all.

Even health and something seemingly “good” can creep into these idol-factory hearts of ours. I know this because it has, at times, been true in my own life. How important it is to wave the flag of Jesus and not ourselves and to live (and eat!) in such a way that offers grace to those around us. My journey to real, God-honoring health, has consisted of a variety of different styles – from cleanses to supplements to low carb, whole foods and even vegetarian and vegan. And I have learned something from every path studied. How beautiful it is that in this country we have the freedom and resources to try different ways of eating- to see what fits our budgets and fuels our bodies. In all of these 10 plus years, and as I come to a better understanding of how the Bible pushes me toward growth and speaks to all of life, it is a beautiful thing to embrace balance and to live in freedom, making wise choices, yes, and demonstrating self-control but remembering to number our days aright, that we main gain a heart of wisdom and bring glory to whom it is due. I will not stand before the Lord one day and be handed a jewel on my crown for a particular style of eating I followed, I will stand before Him to give an account of myself to God and whether or not He ruled the throne of my heart. Eating healthy is important, but bringing God glory and ridding our hearts of idols is of utmost importance.

Go on, dear sister or brother, using your freedom wisely…and “May the God of peace equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.” Hebrews 13:21

20130212-144513.jpg

