Suffering the Call

This past week I watched my husband fasten up his work jeans, put on an old tshirt and walk out the door to work 8 hours at minimum wage. And I watched him return that evening, with a smile on his face and joy in his eyes telling me of his sureness that “God is in this.” The call to ministry is trudging through the mud, in a warehouse, to provide for his family while he patiently, humbly and valiantly leads us to the next call. In my own heart, I have wrestled with this as God continues to refine me. “Have you forgotten us Lord?!” “How long?”

I will never forget the sound of our family tonight, ringing out together during family worship singing, “On Christ the solid Rock, I stand; All other ground is sinking sand, All other ground is sinking sand!” But every day, we receive grace for the now. We see God’s practical provision and receive nourishment through His word.

It is a joy. A refining, purifying, God-exalting JOY to stare this very real suffering in the face and to proclaim to the world that there is no satisfaction to be found here. This world is not my home.

“Life is not a straight line leading from one blessing to the next and then finally to heaven. Life is a winding and troubled road. Switchback after switchback….He is plotting the course and managing the troubles with far-reaching purposes for our good and for the glory of Jesus Christ.” -J.Piper

“This is God’s universal purpose for all Christian suffering: more contentment in God and less satisfaction in the world.” -J.Piper

The following clip from Pastor John Piper, rings true in our hearts these days. I hope it does in yours, too.

