This Is War

   “The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.”

2 Corinthians 10:4

Sometimes I forget that we are living in a war. It’s easy, even living in the midst of a city’s deepest core and most vulnerable dwelling places, to get comfortable in the ugly places. I’m thankful that, in all my years of walking with the Lord, He’s never let me get to a place where my comfort causes me to forget Him.

Last night, after getting the girl’s tucked into bed amidst a nasty thunderstorm, Kevin and I retreated to our favorite spots in the living room to steadily plod through our never-ending reading list. I was feeling a heaviness for a man we know who is coming to an end of his four year battle with cancer…leaving behind two precious little children (the same ages of some of our own) and a young, beautiful bride who will become a widow after 12 years of marriage. The heaviness settled deeper as we had also learned of a Campus Outreach staff member in DC who has gone missing with no other reason to believe that it was due to the result of the sheer evil of this world. While pondering these things, and trying to focus on researching some homeschool materials for next year amidst the cracks of thunder and flashes of lightening outside, we all-of-the-sudden heard 3 very LOUD gunshots that sounded as if they were right outside the front windows of our house. Kevin and I sprang up off the couches (while he grabbed the phone to call 911) and I ran upstairs to check on the kids. A little while later after the cops arrived and assessed the situation, we learned that there were bullet shells directly in front of our house and our neighbor’s house. It appeared as though a person was walking on the sidewalk in front of our home and fired a gun off out of either anger or foolishness.

As I peeked out the window to see all of the commotion, I watched as my husband stood side-by-side with a whole community of neighbors. Broken people. People with messy lives – all brought together by 3 gunshots. And I stood there, reminded of God’s great love and care for us. Not just His physical protection (for in losing our lives, we  really find true life) but for the Gospel colliding with neighbors, with real people all around us. We praise the Lord for these Gospel opportunities to become vulnerable with our neighbors and for the privilege to get to see glimpses into their lives and have them see into ours.

So we will keep pressing on here in these city trenches. And we plead with our real, living God, to continue to allow us the great privilege of trusting Him with our marriage, children, our lives and our faith. And we will keep fighting, because This. Is. War.

“Whom have I in heaven but you?
And earth has nothing I desire besides you.
My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart
and my portion forever.”

Psalm 73:25-26

 

 

*(We are so thankful for many others among us who fight hard. Jump over here, to join our friends and neighbors in their own war – as they fight to rescue a child from darkness. And this family(also living in our neighborhood) has courageously fought in a war against the devastating reality of drug dealing in this neighborhood. Indeed, God is at work and we give Him all the praise!)

