A Lesson In Laundry

012

A giant pile of laundry, folded in love, by the hands of a near-seven year old child. I remember her words. Ann Voskamp’s. “Today, the moment when I am most repelled by a child’s behavior, that is my sign to draw the very closest to that child.” And I see it in that pile of laundry. The desire to please, to restore wrong. And I see even more the work of the God-man I cry out to every night as I pray over my sleeping children – that HE could somehow be glorified in them – the least of these. Before my very eyes, in a child’s pile of laundry, it seems her drawing near to me: Today I want to be your servant mommy! And I’m reminded of that sting of sin. How it makes us retreat to the deadly solitude of our hearts, away from the very ones we love the most when, really, the sin-healer is to draw close. And it’s her leading the way, to draw near no matter what the offense or annoyance. Will you, along with me, take grace with you to lead the way to sting the wound that needs healing dear friend? It takes a sting first to know true healing.

