Let The Children Come To Me!

108_0021 We are praising our Great God this evening for His faithfulness in the salvation of Ashtyn Grace.  Indeed, He has bestowed His grace on her and called her to Himself! Kevin  left town today for a weekend long conference and a dear friend of mine drove an hour with her 4 children to serve me today by watching the girls, feeding them and filling our fridge with delicious food! We shared sweet conversation and while I was out on my own reading some good books on parenting and thinking through our summer schedule, my heart was burdened for Ashtyn who has been really struggling lately with quick, cheerful obedience. Kevin and I were talking last night about how to help her more and about how prayer is the ultimate healer of hearts. Today, she came to my mind many times and I offered her to the Lord, realizing that only He can change her heart and that He knows our faithful efforts and even our failures and works amidst them.

Tonight, after a long but joyous day, we read from the Jesus Storybook Bible about the tower of Babel and how the people wanted to be like God and tried to build a tower to reach Him. They were lost in their sin and pride and the consequence of their sin was that their languages would be confused, making their attempts to reach God a complete and utter failure. We then talked about the Gospel message – which is so clearly displayed in the story of the Tower of Babel. Of how we can’t do anything in our own power to be saved showing us a great need for a Savior to rescue us from our deceitful hearts. We talked about Romans 10:9 which says, “If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in y hourearts that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.” I shared with Ashtyn and Jada the story that God began writing in my life many years ago – about how my dad and I sat on the stairs of my New York childhood home and talked about heaven and our need for a Savior. And there, I bowed the knee to King Jesus as He called me to Himself with my dad at my side. We said our bedtime prayers and I confessed my own sin to the Lord before the girls – how I am selfish and impatient and prideful and unkind. And clearing my heart of the sin that so entangles, we shared in an “Amen” and Ashtyn immediately said that she wanted to give her life to Jesus. We talked about what this meant and I probed her heart to look for understanding and to make sure she had a clear understanding of the Gospel- that Jesus came to die for the world, helpless sinners unable to save ourselves and that 3 days later he defeated death, making a way for us to have the gift of eternal life for those who confess and believe.

It was clear that God was wooing her tonight. We talked about Romans 10:9 again and she asked to pray.She was so eager and I chose not to give her any words to say.  This is what my heart rejoiced to hear…

Dear Jesus. I’m sorry for doing bad things and I want to give my life away. Would you take it from me right now? Amen!”

While we recognize that praying a “prayer” does not save a person, we do acknowledge the stirring of the Spirit in Ashtyn’s heart to move her to want to even pray. Afterall, we are all hopeless without God granting us even a mustard seed desire to want Him. So we celebrated together over our great Shepherd who has found another lost sheep! We called some family members and, of course, daddy to rejoice with us. There is no greater joy in a parent’s life than seeing God call our children to Himself so that they never know a day apart from Jesus. And we trust Him to continue the good work He has begun in Ashtyn’s life. Praise Him for He has done great things!

