His GREAT Faithfulness

We keep a family journal that record’s God’s faithfulness in the life of our family. When He answers prayer, and when He speaks with kindness and moves amidst our lives like gentle breezes or roaring winds, our sinful tendency is to so oft forget His faithfulness.

Just yesterday it dawned on me. God spoke! So quickly, so subtly almost, but so evident all throughout the day. Just the day before, I had to fight off the discontent.  And God, in His mercy, saw to it that I be gently reminded of His GREAT love and provision for me. Indeed, His faithfulness is great!

So it is no random coincidence that yesterday as we went about the day’s rhythm, that I received a phone call requesting a play date we enjoyed today with some kind friends, an email that said this:

“i was just thinking about you and wanted to let you know
that anytime you need anything… especially during this first trimester of pregnancy…
PLEASE let me know!  I am happy to help any way I can.
Please don’t ever hesitate to TELL me anything that I can do for you.”

Another email from a friend offering to take ALL 3 girls on Friday for a few hours,  a visit from my generous and kind-hearted mom who dropped some groceries off to us to fill our fridge with (upon no request of my own!) And to top it off, my pastor-husband who has taught me the priceless lesson of love and sacrifice has fit it in his schedule to take the girl’s for a morning to give me some time alone.

May I never forget amidst refining seasons…

Great is thy faithfulness, O God my Father;
there is no shadow of turning with thee;
thou changest not, thy compassions, they fail not;
as thou hast been thou forever will be.

Great is thy faithfulness! Great is thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see;
all I have needed thy hand hath provided;
great is thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

If you are a follower of Jesus, God’s faithfulness is laced throughout your own life. May you take time today to look for it and to offer Him thanks for His hand that has provided all that you need…

