Through Her Eyes

“Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it.” Hebrews 13:2

Little girls giggling, their hands shifting fresh sand around in the sandbox. Bird’s chirping, sun hitting hard on my winter kissed skin. I sit back and enjoy the sounds of my life. I watch. Take it all in. I choose hard to forget all of the other things I could be doing and so, for a moment,  slip into the simple rhythm of life. Resting. Enjoying. I let their perspective – their child perspective of this day ring sweetly through my ears. “It feels like we’re at the beach mommy!” And I think to myself, Ha.The beach? Look at this place – the filth of the city. Yeah, right, the beach. And then I try hard again to see from her eyes. Ah yes, the gentle breeze blowing. The warm spring air in my hair. The smell of new life ‘round me. I look down and see the sand sparkling. And then I see it. Yes, you’re right sweetheart, it does feel a little like the beach doesn’t it?

I dream of the beach – that place of solace and rest. Fresh perspective. Renewal. And my bliss is quickly shot through by the two men that plod the sidewalk in front of my house – a common sight as the weather warms. The foot traffic picks up and the pangs of bitterness are re-birthed in me. I feel my muscles tense, I put on my tough face and let ‘em know I own these city streets too. This is my home too and my kids can play here too. I won’t be threatened. I won’t be afraid. The gobs of gold clank around their necks and the mass of clothing many sizes too big swish as they walk in step with one another. They look like they own the world- obvious that the world owns them and they don’t even know it.

And then she speaks –her voice joyful and innocent, and that 6 year old mind pierces me to the marrow “Mommy look! Look Mommy! They might be angels!”

I melt and my defense seems to hide behind my shame. Sweet conviction. My eyes couldn’t see, my heart couldn’t feel. Until I saw through hers.

Maybe, for the first time in my life, I saw an angel, and I didn’t even know it.

Angel or not, I learned a very important lesson today through the eyes of flesh born of my flesh – it’s about loving people like God loves them. God answered a prayer I prayed for myself today to “put on love".” And to think He used a 6 year old to enable me to do it…

Through

Her

Eyes.

