Time To Read?

There are so many good books out there. It overwhelms me at times, quite honestly. As a matter of fact, there is a big stack sitting on my nightstand right now – glaring at me.

008

SEE??

I mean, I’m doing good to keep the kids clothed, fed and happy. And sometimes when my mind wanders and dreams, I think of myself, feet propped up, latte in hand, in a nice, quiet cozy room with a good book, no distractions right? Wrong.

So….what do we do when real life stares us in the face, we go to bed tired, wake up tired, homeschool our kids, sit in carline,  go to Bible studies, cook meals, do laundry, tote kids around in the car, go to work, change diapers, wipe up bodily fluids, go on outings to the park. How in the world does one find time to read?

My solution to a problem like that is always to ask questions. The first person I go to is my husband. He’s not only a wealth of knowledge, but he seems almost perfectly balanced with grace and love and is almost-always sensitive to how “crazy” my life is (crazy but fun, remember?) Pastor husband has always reminded me to take it slow and work through a book steadily even if it takes a really long time. Great advice and that’s what I’ve been doing lately.

I came across this post the other day from one of my favorite bloggers over at Holy Experience. And I just had to ask her, “how in the world do you do it?” to which she so kindly responded.  Perhaps our little conversation will offer encouragement and perspective to you today as it did for me…(Thanks again Ann!)

ME:

Just curious from your newest post, if you wouldn’t mind sharing your discipline of reading, how you do it, when you do it and even where (with 6 kids?) in addition to homeschooling, blogging and being a wife of course? Would love to learn from you!

ANN:

Hi Tara 🙂
When I read: bedtime 🙂 I can’t fall asleep without reading — so I read only when I hit the pillow. Sometimes, I have opportunity to read while waiting at music lessons. I always carry a book with me in my bag, so I can read at all appointments, or any car waiting times. And a few nights a week, I’ll get to soak late in the tub, dealing with pain (chronic illness), and I’ll read then too. But yes, with all of the children, and homeschooling, and home managing, no reading during the day here either. 🙂 We don’t have t.v. and I am very much a homebody and while others may have filled calendars, I read 🙂
I think often of this from John Piper:
“Suppose you read slowly like I do—about the same speed as you speak—200 words a minute. If you read 15 minutes a day for one year (just 15 minutes, say just before supper, or just before bed), you will read 5,475 minutes in the year. Multiply that by 200 words a minute and you get 1,095,000 words that you would read in a year. Now the average book has about 360 words per page (that’s what Carson’s book has). So you would have read 360 words into 1,095,000, or 3,041 pages in one year. That’s 13 books the size of Carson’s book, or reading his in 21 days. All that in 15 minutes a day.”
So I guess if we grab 15 minutes a day, even if just before we fall asleep? 🙂
Blessings to you and yours, Tara! And happy reading! 🙂
All’s grace,
Ann

