Power In Being Of Christ

“You are of Christ.” 1 Corinthians 3:23

When tempted to sin:

Reply, “I cannot do this great wickedness, for I am of Christ”

When wealth is before you to be won by sin:

Say that  you are of Christ, and don’t touch it.

Are you exposed to difficulties and dangers?

Stand fast in the evil day, remembering that you are of Christ

Are you placed where others are sitting down idly, doing nothing?

Rise to the work with all your powers; and when the sweat stands upon your brow, and you are tempted to loiter, cry, “No, I cannot stop, for I am of Christ!”

When the siren song of pleasure would tempt you from the path of right, reply,

“Your music cannot charm me; I am of Christ.”

When the cause of God invites you,

Give yourself to it.

When the poor require you,

Give your goods and yourself away, for you are of Christ.

-Charles Spurgeon

