If i had it all

If I had it all, I would be a mess. Because having it image all, means leaving a Savior behind. “In all your music and dancing and wine and luxury, is there nothing?” (Charles Spurgeon) You can take it all away, but you can’t take away Jesus.

Some call us foolish, even crazy, because our family of 5 lives in a 1300 sq. ft. rental house, we raise support for some of our income and drive 2 cars that are not our own. We are living against the grain of culture. Opposite of the “American Dream.” Yes, foolish to the world but oh, the world doesn’t know the blessing found in not having it all… and,sadly, even many Christians in our own circles have not yet experienced this enormous gift.

If I had it all, I’m afraid I would be lost. Lost in my own selfishness. The awareness that I don’t have it all is like the perfect medicine. A salve for an aching soul. In it there is great freedom and hope.

Dear reader, you needn’t try other forms of life in order to see whether they are better than the Christian’s: if you roam the world over, you will see no sights like a sight of the Savior’s face; even if you were to have all the comforts of life, you would be wretched if you lost your Savior; but if you win Christ, then even if you were to rot in prison, you would find it a paradise; if you were to live in obscurity or die with famine, you still would be satisfied with favor and full of the goodness of the Lord.

If I had it all, I’d miss out indeed. So I make the choice to not want it all. And I make the even greater, more difficult choice to not have it all. I choose to say no. I choose to deny myself of feeding the wanting within. And as we approach this Christmas season, I find beauty not in things, but in the person of my Lord who has given me all – all that I need or could ever hope for…

yes, I have found it ALL!

