A God Who Hears

CreekThis is the second Sunday in a row that I’ve had to miss out on Church and be at home with Ellie.  There has been something precious about these times though, in the quiet of the morning with a napping baby, when I’ve been able to read God’s Word without interruption and listen to sermons and write in my prayer journal.  Of course,  no morning would be complete without a little Charles Spurgeon either.  This is what I gleaned from my Sabbath rest so far this morning from the passage in Psalm 66:20 that says, “Praise be to God, who has not rejected my prayer.”

“What a God is He thus to hear the prayers of those who come to Him when they have pressing wants, but neglect Him when they have received a mercy;  who approach Him when they are forced to come, but who almost forget to address Him when mercies are plentiful and sorrows are few.  Let His gracious kindness in hearing such prayers touch our hearts,  so that we may henceforth be found to ‘pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kids of prayers and requests.’”

Charles Spurgeon

