Monday’s Menu Musings

This week’s featured recipe (also what I’m making for dinner tonight to share with some neighbors who are coming over for dinner) is homemade pizza.  My dad is a pro at making pizza because he’s got Italian in his bones and this is nowhere near dad’s recipe but I opted for quick and healthy. Dad’s always seems to take all day because the dough is hand-kneaded etc. This one is done in my bread maker. Try it, I think you will be pleasantly surprised…

Whole Wheat Pizza Dough  (makes 1 pizza)

2/3 cup water

1 tsp salt

1 T olive oil (I use coconut oil for added nutrition)

3/4 C bread flour

1 3/8 C whole wheat flour (1/8 C= 6 Tablespoons)

1 1/4 tsp active dry yeast

1 1/2 tsp italian seasoning

Put on bread setting, when finished deflate dough and roll out and top with toppings

We usually sprinkle ours with diced italian tomatoes, fresh spinach, mushrooms, peppers, onions, slices of salami and lots of mozzarella, parmesan and feta or goat cheese. Bake at 400 until golden and bubbly.

