Gaining Perspective

image Our culture is a whirlwind.  It’s fast paced and brutal and some days, I have to admit,  I feel the effects.  All it takes is a little heart searching to make me realize that my perspective is off, or worse – lost.  Perhaps you may be suffering from a lost perspective today.  You could be anxious, judgmental, hurried, prideful or just plain weary – and maybe a long list of other things as well.

When we take our eyes off of eternity,  life just becomes a whirlwind of events and what we do loses purpose.  In the book of Job, He writes, “All the days of my hard service I will wait.” (Job 14:14).  There is a lot to be learned from a man that could have completely lost his perspective while he endured suffering and tragedy – all of which did not pass through the hands of our loving God who works “everything for the good of those who love him and are called according to His purpose.”  Job lost it all – his possessions, his friends and his family and yet he said that he would wait.  Wait for what?  Author Charles Spurgeon helps us to answer this question:  “We are God’s workmanship, in whom He will be glorified by our afflictions.  It is for the honor of Jesus that we endure the trial of our faith with sacred joy.  Let each person surrender one’s own longings to the glory of Jesus, and feel, ‘If my lying in the dust would elevate my Lord by so much as an inch, let me still lie among the pots of earth.  If to live on earth forever would make my Lord more glorious, it should be my heaven to be shut out of heaven.’ Our time is fixed and settled by eternal decree. Don’t be anxious about it, but wait with patience until the pearly gates open.”

We need to ask ourselves this question every single day, “Am I living as though I am going to die?”  C.J. Mahaney comments that “We live in a culture that seeks to ignore death.” The truth is,  we all will die and our time is fixed by a God who loves us.  Death is our final battle.  Instead of living in bondage to the fear of when or how you will die,  let the truth that you will help you to live your days with purpose and passion.  If you don’t know Jesus, what are you waiting for?  Let go of filling your days with distractions from eternity and “Believe in the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved” (Acts 16:31)  If you do know Jesus and love Him then plan your days and plan your life like you will one day be gone from this world and in the arms of your precious Savior.  When this world is no more,  what will mark your life?  We cannot walk away from an eternal perspective and not be changed.

“He who does not prepare for death is more than an ordinary fool,  he is a madman.”

-Charles Spurgeon

“Planning is a practice influenced by an eternal perspective.” – CJ Mahaney

“I look you in the face and promise you with all my heart: Never will I forsake your gospel. O how you believed in hell and heaven and Christ and cross and blood and righteousness and faith and salvation and the Holy Spirit and the life of holiness and love. I rededicate myself, Daddy, to serve your great and glorious Lord Jesus with all my heart and with all my strength. You have not lived in vain. Your life goes on in thousands. I am glad to be one.” –John Piper (at the side of his father who had just left this world to be with Jesus)

