Nutritionist At Heart

It just thrills me to pieces that I get to actually live out one of my life’s dreams now.  I’ve always wanted to be a nutritionist and help people eat to live rather than live to eat.  I believe that eating healthy is one of the fruits of a Christian’s life.  When we value to the core just exactly what God has done for us, it is only a natural response to want to honor him with the bodies he has entrusted to us so that we can serve Him all the better.  It’s often a meal-time prayer in our house that we would “eat to the glory of God in order to serve Him.”

Before I share with you an incredibly yummy AND nutrient packed recipe for today, let me just make one thing clear.  If you are “into” nutrition and health like I tend to be, let’s remind ourselves today that it can easily become an idol.  I’ve known many professing believing friends that condemn others if they don’t follow certain health rituals or eating habits.  Believe it or not, there are books out there in our Christian book stores that lay out eating plans that claim the diet that Jesus ate when he walked on earth and that deceive Christians into thinking that it’s the way we should eat today.  Sure, there are some healthy guidelines for how we should eat in the Bible but they are only guidelines.  Let’s not be legalistic about it.  If eating healthy is something that defines you and causes you to look at people from the lens of judgement, it’s an idol in your life and you need to kill it, quick.  If you take pride in the organic products sitting in your pantry, you may be the one I’m talking about.  Let’s all search our hearts and be women of grace – willing to adapt when we need to and women who value people and community over rules and regulations in the menus of our homes.

With that said, I’m so thankful to the Lord that I get to be a nutrionist to my husband and 3 little girls.  I love finding delicious, wholesome foods that serve our bodies instead of hinder them.  Smoothies have always been a staple in our home because they are fun and you can easily throw in things that you normally wouldn’t include in a day’s full of eating. This power-packed green smoothie contains 5-7 servings of fruits and veggies in one drink – almost the daily requirement plus some other really good stuff.  The best part? My girl’s LOVE them and they have no idea they are eating kale or spinach or apple cider vinegar or flaxseeds(although Ashtyn helped me make them today and saw me throw in all the greens and thought it was “cool” because we were making green juice).  If you serve them for breakfast, the rest of the day is a breeze as far as fruits and veggies are concerned.  We try and aim for drinking these as a family 3 times a week.  Enjoy!

march-09-003

It is  easiest with a traditional blender to combine the greens first in order to get them real smooth.

img_52981 1/2 cups of liquids (I usually use a combination of water, coconut milk, and kefir)
3 oz or more fresh greens, which is approximately half a bag or 3 large handfuls (spinach or kale are best, can use celery, artichokes or avacados too) –start with smaller quantities and work you way up!
2-3 Tbsp orange juice concentrate

After these ingredients are thoroughly blended, you can add an assortment of fruit.

Here are our favorite additions:

1/2-1 cup Frozen strawberries or raspberries
1 Banana
1/2 cup Frozen Blueberries
1/4 cup Frozen Pineapple
2-3 Frozen Peach slices

I have also used canned pears on occasion as well.

Blend and add a little stevia or honey to sweeten and any additional boosters.

Additional boosters:

Ground flax seeds

Ground pumpkin seeds

Coconut oil

Apple cider vinegar(for energy and also kills viruses and bad bacteria in the body)

FYI- this recipe is from a great blog that was started by a mom who shares my love  for nutrition and frugality combined. I love this blog because it has great recipes and this mom does ALL of the work for me. She has a little extra time on her hands with one child at the moment(even though I know she is still very busy) and I’m thankful she is using that extra time to serve other moms who can’t do all of the research at this season in life. 🙂

