Always Changing

Life is full of change. When I look back at my almost 7 years of marriage, our little family has lived in 7 different houses and apartments and I’ve had to re-make our house into home 7 different times.  And, because our dwelling place right now is a rental, there will be more moving to come!  Makes me tired just thinking about it but it also serves as a reminder that life is always full of change.  Jobs change,  roles change,  relationships change, locations change…our children are always growing and changing,  and ultimately we change, whether we like it or not.  Our bodies will grow old and wrinkled and there is nothing we can do to stop it.  If we are honest with ourselves, most of us long for something stable in a world that is shaky.  There have been times when I’ve been tired of packing up the family and moving “just one more time.”  We women have a maternal nature that longs for our home to be resting places and places where the world stops for a moment in time.

As uncomfortable as change can be at times,  we need it.  I’m glad that God doesn’t leave me the way I used be or even the way I am now.  Our houses need refreshing change,  our wardrobes often need updating and our churches will be poison to the culture if we don’t let change into its’ doors.  Whatever the change in our lives may be,  it should always be built on the foundation of a God who never changes and on His Word which stands forever.  I’ll leave you with a word from Charles Spurgeon which,  I hope,  will instill in you the heart of viewing change through the lens of the Most High God who is our refuge.

“We may be rich today and poor tomorrow;  we may be sickly today and well tomorrow;  we may be happy today,  tomorrow we may be distressed – but there is no change with regard to our relationship with God.  If He loved me yesterday,  He loves me today.  My unmoving mansion of rest is my blessed Lord.  Let prospects be blighted;  let hopes be blasted;  let joy be withered;  let mildews destroy everything;  I have lost nothing of what I have in God.  ‘Be my rock and refuge,  to which I can always go.'”  I am a pilgrim in the world, but at home in my God.  In the earth I wander, but in God I dwell in a quiet habitation.”

“You make the Most High your dwelling- even the Lord, who is my refuge.” Psalm 91:9

