Simple Simplicity

Today I spent all day getting rid of clutter (thanks to you Nicole who reminded me that yes, spices do have expiration dates). Since I am an “all or nothing” kind of gal, of course I go through the entire house in a day and clear out every closet, every drawer and every nook and cranny I can find. 3 trash bags  full later and a carload of goodwill donations complete, it feels good to rid the house of trash and things we don’t need.

I love the word simple. It’s one of my favorite words and its’ meaning is even better.  Organization and cleanliness go along with simplicity really well. As a matter of fact, I believe they really cannot be separated. I also happen to believe that it is Biblical to live simply and so I make it my aim to keep our home clean and tidy and free of excess so that relationships, instead of things become a family priority.  Most importantly, living simply reflects our Maker. God is not a God of chaos, but a God of order. He ordered the universe into being and He orders our lives. His redemptive plan as seen throughout history is in perfect order – all pointing to a Savior.

Before you beat yourself over the head for finding your home in a mess, remember the Gospel and your Savior who gives grace to the humble. Those who know me best know that often there are toys scattered around and piles of laundry in my bedroom and that’s ok. A healthy home has life in it. Life means giggling children and piles of toys. Simplicity does not mean a spotless, sterile house but it does mean that everything has a place and “stuff” doesn’t start to take over and dust doesn’t accumulate for months. Our homes should be simple, clean and full of life – ultimately bringing glory to God.  Happy cleaning!