Crockpot Sanctification

I love my crockpot. Call me a country bumpkin’ but it doesn’t really matter. I’m a multi-tasker to the core and a health nut by nature and so the crockpot is the perfect appliance for me. I mean, how can you beat having a good, wholesome meal ready by the time dinner arrives when you hardly have to do a thing? I stood at my counter top this morning while the girls ate breakfast and chopped veggies for about 10 minutes and that’s about it. Now my house is beginning to fill up with the wonderful aroma of a good soup. And to satisfy the multi-tasker in me, I’ve got some home-made bread in the bread machine going as well. Yummy…

So what does a crockpot and sanctification have to do with eachother? As I was thinking about how much I love the crockpot it seems my “quiet-time” with the Lord for the day happened right then and there as I was dumping all of the ingredients in. It dawned on me that I’m a little like the ingredients in the crockpot while God does the “cookin'”, if you will. Sounds a little cheesy I know, but when you really think about it, it’s true. I had to peel and chop the carrots and they will not taste wholly delicious until they soak in the juices and seasonings and are cooked. If I tried to take a bite of the soup before it was done, it wouldn’t taste good – uncooked, hard veggies that never had the chance to give off their flavors or soak up the other good stuff and soften. I sometimes get frustrated with myself and wonder why God doesn’t bring forth fruit in my life a little quicker or kill off my nasty sin habits now, today. That’s just not what the Christian life is all about. It’s a process because there is something to be learned in the waiting. There is something about the constant struggling that makes me see my need for a Savior. And it all makes sense when the good times and bad times are allowed in my life, because each happening holds a significance to who God is making me to be in the lesson that is to be learned by it.

My soup will be done in 8 hours but my heart will not be perfected that quick.  Sanctification takes time and if you don’t like to wait, you will only get frustrated and beware, because you might leave God out in the process and that’s a dangerous thing.  What makes food from the crockpot so good is that it simmers for hours and hours. And what makes our lives a beautiful reflection of God, is the simmering process of sanctification. The end result is always good. So try this recipe if you get a chance and ask the Lord to help you to be patient as He continues the work in you that He has begun. He who is faithful will carry it out to completion.

Minestrone Soup

6 C. broth

2 carrots, chopped

2 large onions, chopped

3 ribs celery, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 small zucchini, cubed

1 handful fresh kale

1/2 C. dry barley

1 Can chickpeas or white kidney beans

1 Tbsp. Parsley

1/2 tsp thyme

1 tsp. oregano

28 oz crushed Italian tomatoes

1 tsp salt

1/4tsp pepper

Combine all ingredients in slow cooker. Cook on low 6-8 hours or until veggies are tender. Sprinkle with parmesian cheese and enjoy!

