A Cure For The Blues

This morning, it’s just me and Ellie again. The fam is off to church and rascal and I are hangin’ tight at home. A week ago today, I was vividly reminded that God holds our fragile lives in His hand (see last Sunday’s post). Today, God took me down another road and showed me from His Word just how relevant it is in our everyday lives. With the birth of Ashtyn and Jada, I stared post-partum depression in the face. It started out very mild and manageable with Ashtyn and increased in severity with Jada to the point where I wondered if I would need medication. Before I went that route, I can remember struggling with the Lord and wondering if “post-partum depression” was just a cover up for sin. This can be a whole other debate and we won’t go there today, but through those weeks after Jada’s birth, the Lord met and healed me without any need for medication. He sought me and, in return, I sought Him and got over the hump. Naturally with Ellie’s birth, I was wondering if the blues would return. Kevin and I spent alot of time praying together about it before her arrival and God has been so gracious to me. Other than the normal hormonal state that comes from having a baby, I’ve noticed little or no symptoms of what I suffered from previously.

This doesn’t mean that I don’t struggle from day-to-day. While I wouldn’t label it “post partum depression”, I do get the blues from time to time. Life is hard with 3 little ones all ages 4 and under! There are times I don’t want to do my job well as wife and mom, times I don’t feel like it. In fact, I’de rather go to sleep or eat way too much chocolate. There are days when I don’t even get outside the house or have an adult conversation, days when I’m utterly exhausted and haven’t been able to pray or read the Bible. These circumstances can allow for the blues to set in. But this morning I was encouraged that God cares and He even offers a solution to fighting the blues and not giving way to depression (because all of us are prone to it). Read Lamentations 3. Preceding verse 21, the author describes how God has neglected him and how he is in a state of utter depression. Then comes verse 21, “But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, his mercies never come to an end; great is your faithfulness. ‘The Lord is my portion’, says my soul, ‘therefore I will hope in him.'” Notice that the author doesn’t feel these things, rather, he calls them to mind – reminds himself of the truth that God will always love us, always pour his mercy on us, always remain faithful and always be enough regardless of what we think we might need or want in our lives. It’s a reason to hope in the Lord – not because we feel a certain way but because of the truth that stands against raging feelings.

Today, no matter who you are or what you do, when your feelings are contrary to the truth of God’s Word, remind yourself of the truth found in Lamentations 3. Depression is something we feel and so is God’s love. If we seek it, we will find it to be cure enough for the blues.

