Thank You Mr. Spurgeon

Charles Spurgeon is a favorite in our household. He’s actually one of my heroes too.  This morning I was reminded in Charle’s Spurgeon’s “Morning And Evening” to search myself in light of Jesus return and make my calling and election sure “so that the coming of the Lord may cause no dark forebodings in our minds. O for grace to cast away all hypocrisy, and to be found by Him sincere and without rebuke in the day of His appearing.”  As I ponder the day’s events and the weeks to come and how our lives will once again change forever with little Ellie’s arrival, I’m reminded that it’s all about the big picture. Sometimes I get so stuck in my trite, little world that I forget what really matters – living in light of Jesus’ return. When I’m complaining about doing more laundry or waddling around the house sick of being pregnant another day, or administering the rod for what seems to be the 10th time in an hour, is my heart eager to welcome His return? Am I ready to drop the thing I hold so dear to to run to Jesus or do I secretly hope I’ll get to experience a little more of life (even if it’s a drudge sometimes) before my Lord returns? O I really do need the grace today and everyday to cast away my hypocrisy so that I will be found sincere in the day of His glorious appearing! So, thanks Mr. Spurgeon for the much needed reminder.

“But who can edure the day of his coming?” Malachi 3:2

