Out Of The Mouths Of Babes…

I have been a mom for just about five years now and I’ve never known a greater priviledge. One of my favorite parts of motherhood is when I get to see the Lord at work in the hearts of my girls. Not surprisingly, because we serve a great God, this happens alot in our house and so I decided about a year ago to begin a simple journal type book for each of my children (in place of scrapbooking which is far too time consuming). So far I’ve filled these books with all of the simple, funny things the girls say as well as with drawings and hand prints and the like. But the most special and meaningful things that have filled the pages so far are the times I record how Kevin and I see the Holy Spirit at work in little Ashtyn and Jada. This past Tuesday night, I got another little peak into our 2 year old’s heart. Hand-in-hand, Jada and I were walking back home from the weekly downtown dinner and Bible study. It’s become a regular occurence for me and the girls to talk about our friend Mark, who is a homeless man whom we’ve grown to love over the months. Usually he comes every week to the dinner and then Kevin will drive him back to his park bench to sleep on for the night. We often pray for Mark in our household and so our family feels close to him in many ways. Lately, Jada has been asking alot of questions about Mr. Mark and we try to share honestly but simply with her. As we were walking that night she asked me where daddy was and I told her that he was driving Mr. Mark “home.” Nearly filled with tears and with much emotion in her voice, she answered, ” But Mr. Mark doesn’t have a bed!” I tried to re-assure her troubled heart that God watches over Mr. Mark and loves him much more than we could ever know. Later that night as I put little Jada to bed and finished praying with her, she said “Mama, we have to pray that Mr. Mark can have a bed.” It was then that I understood that God really is at work in our little one’s lives.  Amazing how a 2 year old can be so burdened for another person. Now that’s the Holy Spirit!

