The Land Where Shackles Turn To Diamonds

I’m thankful for music. It has often lifted my spirit out of the slumps and almost always points me back to Jesus. Today my cd of choice for the car ride was Caedmon’s Call “Share the Well.” There was one song in particular that seemed to feed my soul. Its’ lyrics go like this: “There’s a land where my shackles turn to diamonds and I’ll trade in my rags for a royal crown…Father forgive me for I have not believed…I’ve groaned and grieved. Father forgive me for I forgot your grace…capture me in your embrace.” Lately, I’ve been feeling the weight and burden of sin and its’ great consequences and effects. Sometimes it’s hard to get through an hour, let alone a day when you’ve been deeply hurt by someone else’s sin. And then, of course, I find myself sinning when I’m hurting from being sinned against. Afterall, that’s the sin nature isn’t it? Nothing we ever do is ever pure because our hearts are laced with desperate wickedness. And in the end, no matter how deeply we’ve been hurt, we’ve also been the cause of hurting another, because of sin.

Sin is an ugly thing – much like shackles. I don’t want the shackles, I want the diamonds. I don’t want the rags, I want the royal crown so I have something to give to Jesus. I don’t want the hurt, I want comfort. I don’t want to have to forgive, I don’t want to be sinned against, I don’t want to do the sinning because it will make me look weak. Today, I know the inward battle will go on, and I’ll have to keep fighting. Fighting to love and fighting against my own sin in the process of loving. But I’m so glad that a simple song could hold the power to remind me of the great land where my shackles will turn to diamonds one day.

“And He will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there will no longer be any death; there will no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain…” Revelation 21:4

