A Much Needed Break

Tomorrow after Sunday worship we will be headed to Isle of Palms outside of Charleston, SC. As we are busy cleaning the house and packing up today part of me wonders if all the work is worth it – especially when I’m 8 months pregnant and trying to recover from a cold that my 4 year old passed on to me! But we all know that there is something about a “break” from the normal routine that helps put life into perspective a little bit better. Jesus took breaks. He often had to get away from the crowds to be by himself. Other times, he went to pray. So, there is something to be learned from His example. Instead of busying ourselves with vacation fun, my hope is that I can take more time than I normally am able to pray and to be in God’s Word. I hope I can stop from the business of life and fall in love with my husband a little more and dive deeper into the worlds of my little girls. I hope I can serve my family because after all, a “break” isn’t about what I can get for ME, it’s about re-gaining strength to continue in the battle of life. There will still be temptation to sin on vacation and to self-indulge but I pray that now, more than ever, I can “rest” through loving Jesus and serving others. Sure, we will do lot’s of fun things but we will all only come back more exhausted if we are expecting the fun to fill the true need in our heart for Jesus. So, as we take a much needed break this week at the beach, pray with us that we would come to Jesus with our labor-weary bodies and souls and that we would find our rest in Him. “Come to me all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

